Janelle Monae to Host 'Dirty Computer' Screening at Feels 6 Art Preview

Save ArticleSave Article

Failed to save article

Please try again

This article is more than 4 years old.
Still from Janelle Monáe's music video for "Pynk." (YouTube)

Feels 6, an Oakland-born art and music fest, is resurfacing in Richmond on June 16 after a two year lull, with headliners Kelis, Princess Nokia and Mykki Blanco. And Wine & Bowties, the creative collective behind the event, announced Friday morning that the visual art preview on June 15 will feature a screening of Janelle Monáe's "emotion picture," or short film, Dirty Computer, hosted by the artist herself.

Previously, the June 15 art preview was for VIP ticket holders only, but there are now a limited number of free spots to attend the screening with Monáe, and RSVP is required. The June 15 event also features a solo performance from experimental singer-songwriter Lonnie Holley and short film screenings from filmmakers Yetunde Olagbaju, Summer Mason, Mark Sabb, Laneya Billingsley and more.

This year's Feels is unlike previous editions. Once held at the industrial warehouse American Steel in West Oakland, the party made the move to Craneway Pavilion, a glass-paneled, 45,000-square-foot concert hall with views of the San Francisco Bay, following the sale of its previous location.

Spellling performs at Wine & Bowties' Feels 6 announcement party at the Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive on Apr. 10, 2018. (Nastia Voynovskaya)

This year's event has a notable majority of female and LGBTQ performers on its musical lineup. Rappers Queens D. Light and Siri; DJs Fela Kutchii, B-Side Brujas, Namaste Shawty and Russell E.L. Butler; and experimental singer-songwriter Spellling are featured on the bill, in addition to rising rappers Allblack and Rexx Life Raj and electronic musician Yves Tumor.

The visual arts lineup includes Chaz Bear, Kesh, Sadie Barnette, Zack Fox, Dicko Chan, Jeffrey Cheung, Sofía Córdova, Muae Sesay, Ali Madigan, Azha Ayanna Luckman, David Huffman, House of Milico, Sko Habibi, Ezra Miller, Mark Sabb, Oliva Krause, Rewina Beshue, Jjaahz, Laneya Billingsley and Flatspot. Details here.