Donate

Next Broadcast:

U.S. Postal Service
Ever wonder what happens to your mail after it is picked up from your mailbox? Join Joel as he follows a letter from a mailbox and goes behind the scenes at the United States Postal Service to find out what happens with our mail.

Tue, Sep 16, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Wed, Sep 17, 2014 -- 5:00am
Wed, Sep 17, 2014 -- 4:00pm
Sat, Sep 20, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Sun, Sep 21, 2014 -- 5:00am


Construction Equipment
Ever wonder why we need such big equipment to construct buildings? Tune into this Curiosity Quest to learn what heavy construction equipment is for and watch as Joel tries to drive a dirt roller.

Wed, Sep 17, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Thu, Sep 18, 2014 -- 5:00am
Thu, Sep 18, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Fender Guitars
Tune into this rockin' episode as Joel tours the Fender Guitar factory, with David Brown, to learn all he can about how guitars are made. Watch as Joel plays an original tune on a very expensive electric guitar...or so he thinks!

Thu, Sep 18, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Fri, Sep 19, 2014 -- 5:00am
Fri, Sep 19, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Cranberries
Join Joel as he visits a cranberry bog in Wisconsin to learn how cranberries are harvested. Watch as Joel encounters the cold Wisconsin weather and wades through the flooded cranberry fields to help.

Sun, Sep 21, 2014 -- 4:00pm
Tue, Oct 28, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Wed, Oct 29, 2014 -- 5:00am
Wed, Oct 29, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Karate
Join Joel on this high intensity quest where he learns from Sensei Mark how karate is done. Watch as he gets "initiated" and earns his very first black stripe.

Mon, Sep 22, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Tue, Sep 23, 2014 -- 5:00am
Tue, Sep 23, 2014 -- 4:00pm
Sun, Sep 28, 2014 -- 4:00pm
Wed, Oct 29, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Thu, Oct 30, 2014 -- 5:00am
Thu, Oct 30, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Dolphins
Join us as contest winner, Nikki and her family, travel with the Curiosity Quest crew to Dolphins Plus in the Florida Keys to find answers to her quest letter about training dolphins. Watch as Nikki and Joel get the chance to meet a real dolphin trainer and swim with dolphins and a sea lion!

Tue, Sep 23, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Wed, Sep 24, 2014 -- 5:00am
Wed, Sep 24, 2014 -- 4:00pm
Sat, Sep 27, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Sun, Sep 28, 2014 -- 5:00am


Snowboards
Have you ever wondered how snowboards are made? Join Joel as he helps create the first ever Curiosity Quest snowboard. And don't miss him shredding down the mountain for a test run!

Wed, Sep 24, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Thu, Sep 25, 2014 -- 5:00am
Thu, Sep 25, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Von Dutch
Rev your engines and come along with us on this noisy adventure! Join Joel as he learns what it takes to create a custom chopper with the Von Dutch Custom Chopper crew.

Thu, Sep 25, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Fri, Sep 26, 2014 -- 5:00am
Fri, Sep 26, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Arena Floor
Join Joel on this quest as he learns how a basketball court can become an ice hockey floor. Grab your jackets and watch as the transformation occurs at an amazing speed.

Mon, Sep 29, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Tue, Sep 30, 2014 -- 5:00am
Tue, Sep 30, 2014 -- 4:00pm
Sun, Oct 5, 2014 -- 4:00pm
Thu, Oct 30, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Fri, Oct 31, 2014 -- 5:00am
Fri, Oct 31, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Jelly Belly
Did you know that President Ronald Regan always had a bowl of Jelly Belly beans on his desk? Join on this quest to learn how these tasty treats are made.

Tue, Sep 30, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Wed, Oct 1, 2014 -- 5:00am
Wed, Oct 1, 2014 -- 4:00pm
Sat, Oct 4, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Sun, Oct 5, 2014 -- 5:00am


Circus Vargas
Ever wonder what it's like to be a circus performer? Join Joel as he clowns around, learns to juggle and takes part in a Circus Vargas performance.

Wed, Oct 1, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Thu, Oct 2, 2014 -- 5:00am
Thu, Oct 2, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Ben and Jerry's
Some of the tastiest ice cream flavors ever made have come from the Ben and Jerry's factory! Join Joel as he learns how ice cream is made and actually creates his very own ice cream flavor called Curiously Gooey Chewy Chocolate Chunk.

Thu, Oct 2, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Fri, Oct 3, 2014 -- 5:00am
Fri, Oct 3, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Safety Training
Join Joel on this quest as he journeys to Oregon where he joins a boat safety class to learn what to do just in case he needs to abandon ship. Watch as Joel jumps in his safety suit and learns how to board the small raft.

Mon, Oct 6, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Tue, Oct 7, 2014 -- 5:00am
Tue, Oct 7, 2014 -- 4:00pm
Sun, Oct 12, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Vermont Teddy Bear
Did you know that 40% of adults still have their childhood teddy bear? Join Joel as he turns the Vermont Teddy Bear factory inside out to learn what it takes to hand-make a stuffed teddy bear.

Tue, Oct 7, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Wed, Oct 8, 2014 -- 5:00am
Wed, Oct 8, 2014 -- 4:00pm
Sat, Oct 11, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Sun, Oct 12, 2014 -- 5:00am


Dw Drums
Have you ever wondered how drums make such cool sounds? Join Joel as he ventures through the Drum Workshop factory to learn all about drum making with woods from exotic places. And be sure not to miss out when he shows off his drummer skills!

Wed, Oct 8, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Thu, Oct 9, 2014 -- 5:00am
Thu, Oct 9, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Pet Grooming
Americans love their animals so kids always wonder what happens when their pets off at the groomers. Join Joel as he gets hairy and wet with the K-9s and kittens.

Thu, Oct 9, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Fri, Oct 10, 2014 -- 5:00am
Fri, Oct 10, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Guide Dogs
Did you know, there are more than 1,000 families raising guide dog puppies throughout the Western states of the USA?? Join Joel on this amazing quest as he learns what it is like to depend on a guide dog.

Mon, Oct 13, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Tue, Oct 14, 2014 -- 5:00am
Tue, Oct 14, 2014 -- 4:00pm
Sun, Oct 19, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Sandcastle
Did you know the tallest sand castle measured over 31ft tall? Watch as Joel joins a sand castle building contest to learn what it takes to create a work of art in the sand.

Tue, Oct 14, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Wed, Oct 15, 2014 -- 5:00am
Wed, Oct 15, 2014 -- 4:00pm
Sat, Oct 18, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Sun, Oct 19, 2014 -- 5:00am


Motor Coach
Ever wonder how the humongous RV's are made? Join Joel as he ventures through the Country Coach factory to help assemble these fun recreational vehicles.

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Thu, Oct 16, 2014 -- 5:00am
Thu, Oct 16, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Pianos
Watch as CQ contest winner Dorothy joins Joel at the Steinway & Sons factory in New York to learn how pianos are made. She really is a very talented piano player!

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Fri, Oct 17, 2014 -- 5:00am
Fri, Oct 17, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Snow Making
Join Joel on this freezing quest as he learns how snow can be "man-made." Watch this early morning action as he tours the mountain in a snow cat.

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Tue, Oct 21, 2014 -- 5:00am
Tue, Oct 21, 2014 -- 4:00pm
Sun, Oct 26, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Challenge Course
Join Joel and Adriano and learn what it's like to take a ride on the challenge course zip line. Get ready to face your fear of heights on this episode of Curiosity Quest!

Tue, Oct 21, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Wed, Oct 22, 2014 -- 5:00am
Wed, Oct 22, 2014 -- 4:00pm
Sat, Oct 25, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Sun, Oct 26, 2014 -- 5:00am


Chef
Join Joel as he learns all that it takes to become a chef from Tapa Meze's head chef, Colin Collville. Watch as the seasonings spice up this episode of Curiosity Quest!

Wed, Oct 22, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Thu, Oct 23, 2014 -- 5:00am
Thu, Oct 23, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Cheese
Join Joel as he visits the Crave Brothers Cheese Farmstead in Wisconsin to learn how milk becomes cheese. Watch as Joel becomes a "master cheese maker" and creates his very own "Curiosity Quest" cheese.

Thu, Oct 23, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Fri, Oct 24, 2014 -- 5:00am
Fri, Oct 24, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Cakes
Join Joel on this tasty quest as he learns how to make designer cakes. Watch as he eats his way through his lessons and joins a cake maker to create a yummy masterpiece.

Mon, Oct 27, 2014 -- 11:00pm
Tue, Oct 28, 2014 -- 5:00am
Tue, Oct 28, 2014 -- 4:00pm


Become a KQED sponsor